mini project: roger [dog] sweater

My first crochet project looks like a success!  Decided to teach myself how to crochet so I gave myself a little project–a doggie sweater for Roger, Kristin’s dog.  Mostly it was inspired by the fact that the picture of the finished product with the pattern was a boston terrier so it was most appropriate for Roger to be my muse…haha.  I always thought it was slightly strange for pets to wear clothes (dresses specifically), but seeing how cold and wet it is in NYC at times, it wouldn’t be a bad idea to give them a little protection from the elements (wet dog smell is not fun). 

Found the pattern on the Lion Brand Yarn website.  I usually buy their yarn (used for this sweater too) because it’s really affordable and there are lots of colors.  They have TONS of free patterns online for knitting and crochet and they also have a learn to knit/crochet instructions if you want to teach yourself.  I learned the basics from my grandma when I was younger, but this site is really helpful for beginners with no experience or for people who need a little refreshers because they forgot something.

Hopefully Rog enjoys his new sweater and that he’s toasty warm!  Thanks Rog for being such a great model!  And thanks Kristin for humoring my first attempt at a crochet project and promising to have Rog try it on no matter what it looked like–even if it had 3 arm holes.  But Thankfully it had 2 arm holes and fit Roger pretty perfectly!!  Yay…success!  (more pics below of the fitting/modeling session….)


Front view…

Running towards the owner for a treat to keep the model happy…

There’s a perfect “sit”

From the Blooper Reel:  The arms have not quite made it into the armholes so it kinda just looks like a shawl.  I let Kristin handle the getting on of the sweater…haha…she’s a little more experience with getting him into doggie clothing.

(images by: vivien chin)

3 Responses to “mini project: roger [dog] sweater”


  1. 1 Ambar December 26, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Very nicely done! 🙂

  2. 2 Kathy December 26, 2009 at 10:22 am

    Great job! I’ve been crocheting for many years & have not been brave enough to try clothing of any kind.

  3. 3 kristin December 28, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    I love this! Roger looks so handsome in all the pictures – I especially love the one of him lunging toward the camera – he’s all “enough of this modeling shizz, where’s mah treat?!”


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to follow nummynims and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 480 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 766,333 hits
December 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages