Archive for May 8th, 2009

gone fishin’

gone-fishing

Heading to New Orleans for a few days!  Very excited!  Hope to eat lots of good food and listen to some awesome jazz.  Be back soon…

pineapple juice @ grays papaya

grays papaya

Heading home after the gym today, I was craving some ice-cold pineapple juice from Gray’s Papaya up in the Upper West Side.  So I stopped in for a cup of it.  I like their hotdogs too which is what they are known for, but definitely their juices are really tasty (they have pina colada and papaya as well, among others).  Pineapple is by far my favorite.  It’s so ice cold and I always drink it so fast that I get momentary brain freeze…haha…very worth it though.  Love the brown mustard there too!  Must have been high fashion day today too because I saw 3 women with Louis Vuitton, Prada, and Burberry purses with the clothes to match those high end bags.  Goes to show no one is too rich to stop in for a a plain ol’ hotdog. 

They have their “Recession Special” there which is 2 hot dogs plus a drink for I think $4.25 or so.  2 yrs ago, it was $3.75 when I moved to NY and much more worth it then (considering the price of the drink alone at regular price is $3.75). 

Location:  Broadway @ W 72nd St.  (right across from the 72nd St stop on the 1,2,3)
(image from NY Times)

alexander mcqueen diamonds

alexander mcquee diamond_01

alexander mcquee diamond_02alexander mcquee diamond_03alexander mcquee diamond_04

These crazy diamond, crystal like prints are showing up on designer Alexander McQueen’s line of clothing and I think they are pretty eye-catching.  Caught the dress with the more pinkish tones in a magazine and thought it was pretty incredible and beautiful.

(images from hapsical)

mousey brown

mousey brown 02

mousey brown 01

This woman walked up to me today while I was taking out the recycling (just rolled outta bed in my pjs and slippers…haha).  Told me she loved my haircut and it was exactly what she had been wanting and wondered where I got my haircut.  I told her Mousey Brown in Brooklyn. 

It’s an awesome place and I never come out disappointed.  Thanks Andrew for making my hair look so good!  Highly recommend this place ladies.  The do email consultations too if you want beforehand so they can figure out what works best for your hair.

Mousey Brown
732 Lorimer St  
Williamsburg, Brooklyn  11211  
(718) 486-7971
(images from yelp.com)

retro wall-e

retro walle poster
retro eve poster

Artist Eric Tan created these very cool retro style Wall-E and Eve posters.  Love them!

word of the day: coruscate

sparkle

coruscate – verb
(1) To give off or reflect bright beams or flashes of light; to sparkle.
(2) To exhibit brilliant, sparkling technique or style.

Fun definition!

(from dictionary.com)
(image from mif86.com)


Enter your email address to follow nummynims and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 480 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 766,340 hits
May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Pages